Aloonaluna- The Gilded Hegemony of Stars

"Lynn Fister’s Aloonaluna project is well known in the cassette world. She has released full length albums on Hooker Vision and Digitalis Limited, plus split cassettes and 7” singles with the likes of Motion Sickness of Time Travel, Ant’lrd and Starry Crowns. She has been featured on Pitchfork’s The Out Door column, Tiny Mix Tapes, and NPR’s All Songs Considered.

On October 21, Fister’s Aloonaluna will release her first full-length vinyl album, The Gilded Hegemony of Stars, on Scioto Records and distributed through CTD Ltd.

Awash in ambient synths, Fister’s vocals are layered into a spacey murmur. It’s an appropriate aesthetic choice for a record that comments on the way many present their lives online.

Says Fister, “Most of the songs were created as a way of coming to terms with millennial culture- with its fragmented morality, narcissistic and sociopathic tendencies, privilege, self- righteousness, definitions, individualistic viewpoint, solipsism etc. Sometimes, I feel alienated and overwhelmed in such a digitized, click-bait, ADD, hook-up cultured, hyper-stylized world. Sometimes art-making seems pointless, as I never felt so weary of interpersonal relationships— which I believe is systemic from current American cultural and socio-political norms. But yet I embrace it and kiss it anyway. I try to wrap my head around a world that I will never be able to understand. My idealized/romanticized pastoral fantasy has been broken again and again, as I try constantly to rebuild a myth.”


released October 21, 2016

All songs written, performed and recorded by Lynn Fister in Asheville, NC between December 2013–May 2016. Lee Folmar on bass guitar (recorded by Clayton Rychlik) on track A1, and production by Christopher Fleeger on track A5. Mastered by Keith Hanlon. Sleeve design by Ron Hester. Thank you to Keith Hanlon, Micah Keith, my sisters, Christopher Fleeger, Lee Folmar, Sarah King, Cliff Cook, Jenn Williams and to all my family and friends for being supportive, inspirational and lovely."
-Scioto Records 2016

Grip it here !!

WAT V-001 Benjamin Finger- The Bet

Sometimes you find a secret door in your house. It is usually behind the bookcase or under the Persian rug. That is where these types of doors like to live. You have to find the hidden lever or sometimes you have to pull just the right book out of that bookcase... Sometimes when you are traveling in the web of underground secret passages in your house, there are windows. Each window reveals a glimpse of some strange story in a loop- to be repeated again and again. You stare blankly for a minute, and then continue down the hallway of windows, realizing each window- no matter how absurd the image- makes for an epiphany of meaning. Only blurred, amorphous, dusty.

Norway's Frank Benjamin Finger is a bit like when you find that secret door in your house. His extremely elegant and classical approach to collage and modern composition takes you on a journey through a secret passageway of windows. Unintelligible voices stroke your face. Like lucid dreaming- or perhaps even what it is like in waking life- it can be whatever you want it to be.

Watery Starve Press's first vinyl release, Benjamin Finger's The Bet, is yet another profound and enigmatic work by Finger. As ever, Finger composes careful meditations, deeply influenced by classical themes, musique concrete, the oceans, the clouds, whispers and wintry forest creatures. These compositions, in particular, seem to be breathing exercises. Although blissful at times, there is an eerieness that never escapes, suggesting the darker landscapes of a beautiful dream. Another must-have gorgeous release by Finger, seemingly for the persons who want to remember how to breathe. Or perhaps for the dead love ones in distant, past lives. Sometimes we vaguely remember them and can make out their ghostly shapes.

Music by Frank Benjamin Finger. Cello by Elling Finnanger Snofugl. Vocals on 1, 3, 8 by Inga-Lill Farstad and 6 by Lynn Fister. Black vinyl. Art on record cover by Christer Karlstad (front) and Lynn Fister (back, inner watercolor painted sleeve) with Roby Beckwith, Mary Shrom and Isaac. Mastered by James Plotkin. Edition of 333. Comes with free download code.

US Shipping $14US, Canada/Mexico Shipping $28, International $32